The idea to establish a Methodist church at Lartebiokorshie was mooted at an Accra circuit meeting held in March, 1971, under the chairmanship of the late Rev Joseph K Clegg, the then chairman of the Accra District. The Abossey Okai Society was charged with the responsibility at the establishment of the new society.

At the leaders meeting of the Abossey Okai Methodist Church held on the 28th April, 1971, under the chairmanship of the late Rev J. E. A. Akushie, the necessary arrangement to start the church service at Lartebiokorshie was given to the youth fellowship and the Leaders.

At the meeting of the Youth Fellowship held in early May,1971, a committee headed by Bro. A.R.K Mensah, Chaplain of the Youth Fellowship was appointed to carry out a study of the area and find out about the population and accommodation that would enable the church to be established. In the middle of May, 1971, the committee submitted its findings and made favorable recommendations on it and the dynamism of the Youth Fellowship was put into action.

Mr and Mrs J.T. Nettey-Marbell were consulted and they heartily agreed to allow a hall in their houses to be used as a place of worship. However, by reason of accessibility and space, Bro. E.K. Antwi, A class leader and local preacher of the Abossey- Okai Society who by His grace was then the head teacher of the Lartebiokorshie 1&2 middle school, advised that the two double-classrooms of the school could be used. Mr Antwi sought permission from the AMA and permission was granted for the usage of the classrooms for the proposed church service. Mr and Mrs J.T. Nettey-Marbell, Sis Eva Ankrah, Dr& Mrs E. Akwei, and Mr. E.K. Antwi greatly assisted the Youth Fellowship to plant the new church.

On Sunday,6th June,1971, some brethren from the Abossey Okai Church, prominent among them were Leaders, the Youth Fellowship members, choristers, Bro E. K. Antwi, late E.A.Allotey, late E.O. Dodoo, late Sis Eva Ankrah, Comfort Otoo, Hanna Quartey, late Wilhemina Akwei, and the residents of the area making a congregation of seventy-four(74) met at the doubled classroom of the middle school and held the first service at 9:30am.

The preacher was Bro. A.R.K. Mensah who later became the first caretaker and Society Steward of the church. Sister Margaret Lamptey and Grace Mensah served as sides-women and Bro. John Hammond- Acquah was the violinist who led the singing. Sis Wilhemina Akwei provided a white table cloth and a vase of flowers used at the service.


The Church Choir

Some members of the Church choir of the AbosseyOkai Methodist Church who had been supporting the new church gradually started withdrawing back to their original church. Mr A.R.K Mensah therefore organized a few youth to form the choir and was holding choir practices until Mr. D.C Mensah joined the Lartebiokorshie Society and took over the handling of the choir on 15th October, 1971.

The following are the pioneer members of the Choir:

Choirmaster: Bro D.C Mensah


Sis Charlotte AdokaileyPappoe

Sis Eva AkuAllotey

Sis Martha Hammond

Sis Diana Clottey

Sis Angelina Hammond

Sis Naomi Commey

Bro Jonathan Quartey

Rev Ishmael Quartey


On 31st October, 1971, Bro DC Mensah bought his own organ for use at church services. MrsJemimahAllotey lent the church 65 cedis to repair the organ when it became faulty. An appeal for choir robes was launched, and on 19th December, 1971, Rev . Nahum Mensah dedicated the first set of choir robes.


The late Mr and Mrs J.T Nettey- Marbel gave great assistance to the church especially the Choir. They donated six English Methodist Hymn books (TonicSolfa) to the Choir and offered their residence for the choir to keep their robes.




The Lartebiokorshie branch of the Methodist Youth fellowship was inaugurated by Mr FN Bruce Thompson on Saturday, 2nd September, 1972. The First set of executives were:

  • President : Bro J.N Wusah
  • Financial Secretary: Bro Hector Odoi
  • Organising Secretary: Bro Emmanuel Broni
  • Treasurer: Bro Jonathan Quartey
  • Singing Master: Bro Samuel Donkor
  • Secretary: Bro Ishmael Quartey



The fellowship was inaugurated on Sunday, 15th July, 1973 at a colourful service under the chairmanship of Mrs Mary Owusu. It started with 25 members. The executive members were

  • Chairperson :Late MrsEmeliaOtoo
  • Secretary: Mrs Janet Okai
  • Treasurer: Late Madam Eva Ankrah
  • Late MrsWelheminaAkwei : Member
  • Late Madam Comfort Otoo: Member



Bro A.R.K Mensah, Madam Comfort Otoo and the Late Bro. J.P Osabutey were instrumental in establishing the singing band.



The band was nurtured for about 3 years by the late Sis WilheminaAkwei after the formation of the church. On 31st October, 1977 the band was officially inducted into the Methodist Church by the late Bro EssilfieBondzie, the President of the Accra Diocese.

Total membership was 30, but has increased to over seventy (70) who are active.

The officers of the time of the inauguration were:

President: Late Sis WilheminaAkwei

1st Vice President: Sis Margaret Tetteh

2nd Vice President: Late Sis Arde – Acquah

Secretary: Bro George Cofie

Assistant Secretary: Sis Martha Armah

Porter: Sis Naomi Yeboah

Treasurer: Late Sis Rose Duncan

Chaplain: sis Dinah Attram

The band participated strongly in church activities spiritually and financially. Other activities undertaken by the band included outreach work in villages such as Mpoasi, Soko, etc




The Men’s Fellowship was formed with a grand opening ceremony on the 3rd July, 1980 with a membership of 20.

The following were the executive members

Chairman: Bro Victor Nettey

Vice Chairman: Late Bro ET Ahong

Secretary; Bro E.F Brenya

Treasurer: Bro S.  BuaKwofie

Chaplain: Bro George  Armah

Executive member: Bro Ishmael Quartey

Executive Member: Bro Ben Ayitey- Adjin

Executive Member: Bro Edward A. Addo

Executive Member: Bro I.K. Quartey

Executive Member: Bro Solomon Turkson



The church has a vibrant children’s service which through good upbringing and Christian principles feeds the mother church constantly as the older members are graduated to the adult service. The Children’s service is divided into three sections. The lower Timothy Class, the Upper Timothy Class and the teens class.


Rev Ministers

The following are names of ministers who at one time pastured the Latebiokoshie Methodist Society from 1971 to date

  • Late H.V Acquaye – Baddoo
  • Late Kwatelai Quartey
  • Late J.E Pappoe
  • Late J.E.A  Akushie
  • Abraham A Tagoe
  • H.K. Enim
  • Joseph Pobee
  • Late Ben Osae–Addo
  • Late Hudson Odoi
  • Raymond Addo
  • J.D Ekem
  • Eric Aflah Sackey
  • Late John I. Buabeng
  • Isaac Y. Boamah
  • Tweneboah Koduah
  • Late Emmanuel A. Ashitey
  • V. Rev Ishmael K. Quartey
  • Nicholas Tetteh
  • J.B.Quarshie
  • V. Rev. (Mrs)Diana Gyang
  • V. Rev Marslad Osabutey
  • V. Rev Ekow Dzimah
  • Rev Solomon Patterson
  • Rev. (Mrs) Trudy Wright





  • Bro A.R.K Mensah
  • Bro I.K Quartey
  • Bro Victor N. Nettey
  • Sis Grace Ayi- Bonte
  • Sis Evelyn Nelson
  • Bro Charles Crabbe
  • Sis Grace Amanortey
  • Bro Charles Allotey
  • Bro George Safo
  • Bro Charles Armah
  • Sis Gloria Menyansah